Special Midweek Mini Munchies: Scary Close by Donald Miller

left-site

Recently, I have been reading a lot of books on marriage and relationships. I guess I could have done this before I was engaged, but here I am. Anyway, I was caught off guard at how easily Donald Miller has changed my whole understanding of relationships with his new book Scary Close.

Donald Miller’s idea is simple: becoming the best person you can be leads to better relationships. It’s not about roles, steps or tips. It’s about you. You are the key to good and bad relationships. We can look externally all we want, but eventually we all need to realize that our internal self is what makes us “good at relationships.”

One of my favorite parts of the book gives a simple piece of wisdom. “All relationships are going somewhere.” So the question that follows is where is this relationship headed? I think this is so important to understand. Relationships are heading somewhere, whether toward marriage, deeper friendship, or possibly an extra-marital affair. When we look at our relationships we need to look into the future. We need to see past what is happening now, how great they may make us feel or whatever, and see where this thing is headed.

The book’s simpleness is met with Donald Miller’s expertise in memoir. He speaks personally of himself and others relationships and how they have transformed his understanding.

This book is a powerful resource, whether you are engaged, dating or celibate. Thanks Don for writing such a powerful book.

5 out of 5 bowls of cereal


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
One thought on “Special Midweek Mini Munchies: Scary Close by Donald Miller

Do you agree/disagree? Want more explanation? Let me know in the comments!

