Tithing Before or After Taxes?

Tithing: should it be done before or after taxes? This is a question I heard once during a talk on “Biblical” Money Handling. My first thought, truthfully, was “You know, I have never thought of that. I wonder if God wants…”

And I stopped myself, wondering when the important questions seem to wander off? Does humanity’s consciousness truly need to ponder questions like these because we have already solved the riddles of time?

Poverty.

Hunger.

Thirst.

Racism.

Hate.

The answer, in case you didn’t already know, is no, we haven’t solved these. Now tithing is important to many, so I still want to discuss what I hope many are trying to get at when asking this question.

Honestly, tithing hasn’t always been a focus for me. My wife now puts more effort into it than I probably ever will, making sure our 10% goes to the church community we are involved in. It hurts a little, not too much. But our mindset as a family is to always prioritize saving, so 10% is a big deal. But maybe it’s not for everyone and I think that’s an important idea to recognize.

What is God really asking for? First fruits. Best of the flock. But is that the goal? Is that really the end game?

I see a God who reminds us constantly that what he most desires is our heart. “I want you to show love, not offer sacrifices. I want you to know Me more than I want burnt offerings.” We are no longer called to tithe. That is Old Testament. God asks that we give out of our heart. Money, clothing, food, shelter, a ride home, gifts. Give and give till it makes you uncomfortable.

God desires loving, giving maniacs, not a percentage of the world’s paystubs. Because remember everything in the world IS already His, right?

Do you agree/disagree? Want more explanation? Let me know in the comments!

