One Year Down

K: YOU GUYS! 2016 is over! This has been a crazy year. I can’t even say for sure if it felt fast or slow… Either way it came to a close.

K: December brought us into my favorite time of year. I love the holidays. So much. I love Christmas lights and Christmas music and Christmas decorations and Christmas cookies and Christmas Eve service and Christmas. December also brings my birthday, so that’s fun. Matt actually had my birthday off (his only one in 13 days!) so we hung out and ate yummy food and enjoyed the freezing cold weather.

M: Days off? What are those?

K: I just want to point out that when I say freezing cold, I actually mean that snow was falling and sticking and the temperature was below 32* for long stretches of time. I did not sign up for this. Everyone tells me it doesn’t snow here, but that’s obviously not true. I would also like to point out that while it’s not a lot of snow, driving in snow and ice on the many hills here is much different than driving in snow and ice on a flat surface. And by different I mean scarier.

K: Anyway, in order to feel my toes again, I went to Tucson! Matt told me to leave so he could sleep alllll day until work and my mom told me to come because she loves me and I’m fun to hang out with 🙂 I got to go for $11 thanks to southwest points! Even better.

M: Yeah sorry babe. You are literally the only thing I wake up for on workdays.

K: We did lots of Christmas-y things and I was refreshed (from spending time with my people) and warmed (from spending time with my people, but also the sun helped).

K: A couple days after I got back, we finally got let out of our lease. That’s all you’re gonna get from me. I am legally bound from discussing our tenancy on a public forum. So you have the complex-that-shall-not-be-named to thank for holding me back from a long-winded rant about… things. 

M: Yay! Wait… we have to move during PEAK?!

K: I started packing that same day we got the news and we moved the majority of our things on Christmas Eve. After a long day of moving, we got dinner and saw Rogue One with some Amazonians who were all thrilled to be done with peak season. I slept through at least the first half of the movie (you’d think I’d been working 90 hours a week), but I hear it was good! Of course, Matt will have something to say about it.

M: It did a great job filling in the plot hole of why is there a literal hole in the Death Star that is its greatest undefended weakness.

K: On Christmas day we rummaged through boxes to find the random presents we got each other. We literally handed each other unwrapped things we had thrown into boxes last minute and then went back to unpacking. Real special 🙂 We did make a big breakfast and ate it surrounded by boxes and our new view. Maybe one year we’ll actually make Christmas traditions of our own!

M: We are adults, we buy our own Christmas gifts now.

K: We closed out the year with some more unpacking and settling into our new home. My goal is to have everything done by the end of January 3. 2016 did get the better of me and I’ve been sick for almost a week now. So if I don’t make my unpacking goal, oh well. I was waylaid.

K: If you want the new address, send us a message!

K: That about sums up December. And 2016. Thanks for sticking with us!

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year from our small family to you and yours.

M&K

 

 

Do you agree/disagree? Want more explanation? Let me know in the comments!

