Buy Nothing Update: Vacation!

You guys, we’re escaping to the warmth! YAY! I’m so excited.

As per our rules, we decided it was okay to buy new items that would further our memory-making experiences. We used this exception to get ready for some fun in the sun!

We each got a snorkel mask and will get flippers once we arrive. I’m not exactly the best swimmer and, in fact, I don’t even really like swimming unless it’s to see cool things like brightly colored fish. Generally speaking, I prefer to keep my head above water if at all possible. However, that’s not how snorkeling works so we got full-face masks that will allow us to breathe through our mouth and nose, which I’m quite happy about.

We also got a dry bag for our rental car key and whatever other little stuff we want. When I was in Hawaii with my family, my dad and brother decided to go bodyboarding. After about 30 minutes of catching some great waves (and my mom and I watching sea turtles), my dad got out of the water and realized he had the rental car key in his bathing suit pocket! It was an automatic clicker one – battery operated. The key spent 30 minutes bodyboarding! By the grace of Poseidon, it still worked. However, I have no interest in repeating that stressful walk back to the car. So, we got a dry bag.

We also got a battery pack for our phones. I have no idea how much navigation we’ll need to use or excessive pictures we’ll want to take, so this seemed like a safe bet. I’m thinking we can’t get that lost on an island as long as we stick to the coast, but I’d rather know my phone will be charged just in case.

The good news is that I didn’t need a new bathing suit! The one I bought 4 years ago for this same trip is still good to go. Hallelujah. Crisis averted.

Matt has a ridiculous amount of time off because he took almost none last year and we are ready to make use of it! If nothing else, he earned a chance to breathe easy in his full face mask. Here’s to vacation!

Do you agree/disagree? Want more explanation? Let me know in the comments!

