We’re Coming Home!

K: We did it! We bought a house in Tucson (without seeing it) in April.

M: And we didn’t tell any of you! Hahaha!

K: In late May, Robin, Darla and Chris visited us and we did lots of touristy things like Chihuly Gardens and the West Seattle Water Taxi. As per the usual, there was lots of good food at every opportunity.

M: Got to get that yummy BBQ Pete’s any chance we can get.

K: The next weekend, Nick (Matt’s brother) visited us. Again, some more touristy things and lots of good food. Matt and Nick ended up flying out on the same plane because Matt got a job in Tucson!! He was headed to training.

K: Fun fact – Matt was in Tucson interviewing for a job in early May (not with Amazon). He was driving back to the airport to come to Seattle and Amazon called him to offer him a position in Tucson! It was a bit earlier than we hoped, since we’re leaving right when the weather gets good here, but oh well. It’s a way to Tucson!

M: Stuff just works out sometimes.

K: I stayed one more night in our apartment and then headed out on a 8 day coastal camping trip without my main camping buddy but with my parents. This means I ended up sleeping in the car rather than setting up the tent every night.

M: Because only I can set up the tent?

K: It was a great trip with some amazing scenery! Plus, I get to do it again so that Matt can see everything.

M: 2025?

K: Matt was training in Phoenix and then flew back up to Seattle so we could pack the uHaul and drive down to Tucson. Another 24 hours in the car and we made it to our new home!!

K: Due to my parents still being on their trip and us having never been to our house, we ended up searching for the house key at their place for about an hour after getting to Tucson 😀

K: After that was all cleared up by finding the key on the credenza (right where we were told it would be but folded into a piece of paper, the whole situation prompting some suggestions of breaking a window, calling a locksmith, etc.), we finally got to see our new house!

M: We spent some time walking around taking pictures and basking in the house. In case you were wondering, we love it!

K: Friends and family joined us for unpacking the uhaul (which went significantly faster than the packing Matt and I had to do – down 4 flights in the elevator and then out the parking garage). I was there less than 24 hours before catching a flight back to Seattle.

K: I’m here a total of 4 more weeks to wrap up some things at work and dog sit for beer friends. Matt is busy getting the house ready for me 🙂 So far, this has included killing way too many cockroaches (making their way in through the fireplace), sealing said fireplace, getting the AC fixed and assembling all our ikea furniture.. again. Thanks, babe!

M: Too much to do!

K: Matt is free to unpack anything he wants, knowing that I may want to change some things around, like in the kitchen, the bedrooms, the living room, … all the things? Who knows.

M: I’m unpacking nothing.

K: I should be job hunting right now, but instead I’m hanging with the doggies, thinking about getting my own when we’re settled in Tucson.

K: We’ve had some great experiences in Washington and truly enjoyed most of our 3.5 years here. We made some great friends that are all required to come visit us in Tucson. I can’t wait to show off our first love to newbies 🙂

Tucson, we’re coming home!

K&M

Do you agree/disagree? Want more explanation? Let me know in the comments!